Horse Lovers Forum ( Founded 2010 ) ( CLOSED )
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Horse Lovers Forum ( Founded 2010 ) ( CLOSED )

https://gallopingfree.forumactif.com

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  Version FrancaiseVersion Francaise  

scarlets' blog

Go down 
+5
morseamy
georgie
Azaria
maycloud
scarlet
9 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
AuthorMessage
scarlet

scarlet

scarlets' blog Empty
PostSubject: scarlets' blog   scarlets' blog EmptyWed Mar 14, 2012 2:25 pm

never blogged before , but here goes.
firstly something about me and my ponies. Yorkshire born but parents emigrated to Oz when i was 5. i was there till i graduated uni (17yrs) and during that time fell in love with horses , joined the pony club at 12 (a 7 mile ride there and back every 2nd sunday) and finally sold my last horse when i was in final year at uni. i did the lot - mounted games, jumping, eventing dressage, long distance rides and even worked on outback properties mustering.
after graduating i went back to the uk and for 15 years was horseless , although when in London , through a friend, i joined the civil service riding club which rides at the mews in buckingham palace, so got to ride once or twice a week - enjoyed hacks in Hyde park but you had to be suitable attired - full rig out including hair nets and jackets
Back up north i suddenly realised there was nothing stopping me owning my own horse , so i was suddenly a horse owner again! In Oz we always kept the horses in the house paddock - no stables - just at grass. Quite a culture shock with liveried horses - the mucking out , correct way to bank a bed, restricted turnout (leading to quite lively rides!) so i longed to have my horse at home.